Vision Board: Waiting on Equality  

Some time has passed since I have written about my vision board and intentions. I don’t remember if I told you that I didn’t have full faith in the whole vision board theory; the one that states if you place it on the board it will manifest in time. Part of the theory that I had been omitting was the practice part of it. Vision Boards in practice means you display your vision board in a prominent place where  you will lay eyes on it everyday whether you consciously connect with it or not. Needless to say I brought my vision board home snapped a few photos for this blog and then filed it in the narrow space between the video game chest and living room wall. This grave error has been corrected and my board has been hung in plain sight in our bedroom on my side of the bed so it is either the last or next to last thing I see every night and one of the first things I see every morning…and here I lay. 

Tonight my insomnia is playing a bit of peek-a-boo which has me only slightly worried that I’m not going to get one wink of restful sleep but as I lay here playing with my smartphone growing rather bored of all my social media platforms my vision board is making an entrance to center stage from my peripheral view. There is a phrase that keeps catching my eye, arresting my psyche; “yesterday’s impossible looks like tomorrow’s inevitable.”

What did it mean when I cut it out and placed it there? Those six words in red font. I can tell you today, right now, it screams of equality. Being equally wed. These words sum up my views on getting married and how my stance has grown in the light of hope. You see I have stood on the sentence that “marriage is against my religion.” In all truth I don’t subscribe to a religion never have but I knew that I didn’t believe in marriage as it stood or stands for mainstream America. I knew that I would never get married until I could legally marry the love of my life.  Growing up did I know who the love of my life would be? No, but I knew that it was not embodied in the male figure and since same gender loving marriages were illegal I took my stand that marriage wasn’t for me and for forty years I was right!

Well the light has been turned on and the opinion of the masses is changing. People are now ready to accept that love comes in a variety of shapes, sizes, colors and attractional makeups – and while the world is coming around the universe played its own little joke on me. I fell. I found the one, my love, the person I want to spend the rest of my life with and let me tell you it has taken many by surprise. No one ever thought that I miss “never getting married” would succumb to cupid’s arrow. Well, it’s a direct hit and at just the right time. She is the yin to my yang. The calm voice of reason. The one who pushes me into the light, assures me that I can do better. The one I want to share my everything with.

The Supreme Court is hearing arguments on same gender marriages, state by state bans are being lifted, other countries are leading the charge, and so, it’s coming this summer…our wedding because “yesterday’s impossible looks like tomorrow’s inevitable.”

Leave a Reply

